Reading Time: < 1 minute

Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell, R-Ky., on Wednesday won re-election as Senate GOP leader, fending off a challenge from Sen. Rick Scott, R-Fla., and setting himself up to become the longest-serving party leader in the history of the Senate.

McConnell won a vote that broke 37-10 and saw one senator abstain, according to Sen. Ted Cruz, R-Tex.

Cruz and several other GOP senators had called for the vote to be postponed until after the Dec. 6 Georgia Senate runoff, but a motion to do that from Cruz failed 32-16 ahead of the GOP leader vote.

“I’m not going anywhere,” McConnell said after the vote, when asked if he would consider stepping aside after breaking the record of the longest-serving party leader in Senate history, late Sen. Mike Mansfield, D-Mont. Read more…